FMSCA Issues Regional Hours of Service Waiver until March 4, 2021

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has issued a Regional Emergency Declaration in response to the arctic blast and severe ice storm impacting much of the United States. The Emergency Declaration waives hours of service requirements for the transportation of propane, among other commodities, to those customers in Pennsylvania impacted by the severe weather. The declaration is in effect in 33 states and the District of Columbia until March 4, 2021.

States Under FMCSA Emergency Declaration:

  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia 
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Guidance on emergency declarations and waivers by the National Association of State Energy Officials is available HERE

Please direct any questions to or share new information with Sarah Reboli, NPGA Senior Director of Regulatory & Industry Affairs.

Click HERE to Print FMCSA Regional HOS Waiver 2021-001