Hours of Service Waiver – Extended until 11:59pm, Sunday, February 17, 2019

With the ongoing severe winter weather, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) extended the current Regional Emergency Declaration until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, February 17, 2019.

The emergency declaration waives hours of service requirements for those providing assistance to the affected states, including the delivery of propane, natural gas, fuel oil, and gasoline.  The states included in the FMCSA Regional Declaration are: Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Download the Amended FMCSA Regional Declaration

Drivers operating under the terms of the FMCSA Regional Declaration may keep a copy of the declaration in the vehicle.

The latest guidance on emergency declarations and waivers by the National Association of State Energy Officials is available here.  Please direct any questions to or share new information with Sarah Reboli, NPGA Director of Regulatory Affairs.