Hours of Service Waiver expires 11:59pm February 2, 2019

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Eastern Service Center and Midwestern Service Center declared a Regional Emergency in anticipation of severe winter weather events affecting multiple states. The emergency declaration waives hours-of-service requirements for those providing assistance to the affected states, including the delivery of propane, natural gas, fuel oil, and gasoline.  The states included in the FMCSA Regional Declaration are: Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont. 

The emergency declaration is attached for your reference.

The waiver is effective immediately and until 11:59 pm Saturday, February 2, 2019.  Drivers operating under the terms of the FMCSA Regional Declaration may keep a copy of the declaration in the vehicle.

The latest guidance on emergency declarations and waivers by the National Association of State Energy Officials is available here.  Please direct any questions to or share new information with Sarah Reboli, NPGA Director of Regulatory Affairs.